Antique and Art Exchange
1 min readDec 17, 2020

Angels, Apsaras and Other Rare Creatures.

Yesterday I woke to unexpected news. One of my hero’s found a present in our catalog and would be seeing me. Our relationship goes back a few decades. A large and rare collection of theoretically valuable objects dropped into our lives. After a few well placed phone calls I had an appointment with one of the worlds leading curators and experts for this material. Everything about her defied stereotypes. Far from the blustering bully routine was a person quite happy to spend the time it took and willing to help me learn a small amount and that has helped me since. I have had a chance to call on her a number of times. I have enjoyed some wonderful laughs. My favorite involves a relatively rare example of a substantial carving. The first time she saw it she would only go as far as saying that the surface looked good. A few years later she showed the “pope” for lack of a better word a photo of the work and asked his opinion. As near as I can recall he said “of course it’s real” Look at it. My god who would make such an ugly fake”.

I claim only a professional relationship. She is very accomplished & amused. We send our very best wishes your way and hope that we will all find ourselves accomplished and amused.

Antique and Art Exchange

We curate for designers and collectors for 25 years. Pieces range from curiosities to furniture that will make your home unique. San Francisco, CA. #aaxsf